Synchronisation


What is it ?

Synchronisation allows you to synchronise issue field values based on certain rules. A field mapping must be created prior to configuring any synchronisation.

You can synchronise issues of your local JIRA instance with issues located on the same instance or on a remote instance, either cloud or server.
If you want the synchronisation to be bidirectional with a remote instance, Elements Copy & Sync must be installed on both JIRA.

How does it work ?

When an issue is updated, if it matches source criteria defined in one of configured synchronisations, Elements Copy & Sync will update all issues which match target and link direction criteria following field mapping of this synchronisation. 

Note : If updated issue matches source criteria of several existing synchronisations, all of them will be processed (following order in administration section rank).



Create / Edit Synchronisation page

When creating or editing a synchronisation, the following screen is displayed :



  • Name : the name of the synchronisation.
  • Enabled/Disabled: to make the synchronisation active or not.
  • Server : target JIRA instance which will be synchronised. It can be a remote instance configured with a JIRA Application link.

Issues to synchronise

    • Source issues : JQL query to match source issues. Leave empty to not apply any filter.
    • Link direction : the type of link which is taken into account by the synchronisation. For remote server, all links with remote issues corresponding to this server will match.

      For a bidirectional synchronisation, it will be necessary to create two synchronisations : one for the inward link and another one for the outward link. (Example : blocks and is blocked by).

    • Target issues : JQL query to match target issues. Leave empty to not apply any filter. (Not available for remote server and subtask link types)

Fields to synchronise



  • Fields mapping : select the field mapping which will be used by the synchronisation configuration. All field values set in the field mapping will be synchronised.

The following options are not available when the target is a remote JIRA instance: 

  • Comments : when checked, any new comment added on the source issue will be also created on the target issue.
    • Comment restrictions : appears only if Comment synchronisation is used. If checked, only public comments (comments viewable by all users) will be synchronised.
    • Comment visibility in JSD : This option allows you to bypass the common JSD limitation: comments synchronised from a standard JIRA project (Core or Software) to a JIRA Service Desk project are not visible to customers if the original author can't post public comment on the JIRA Service Desk project. This section appears only if comment synchronisation is checked and JIRA Service Desk is installed. You can choose between next options :
      • Use author permission : visibility of the comment created on the target issue depends on the author permissions
      • Always private : comment created on the target issue in JIRA Service Desk project will always be private
      • Always public : use this option to make comments posted by non-agents on a JIRA project  synchronised into a JIRA Service Desk project using the identity of an agent selected in a 'Comment author in JSD' section. 
    • Comment author in JSD : Here you can select the external author of the comment to use when the original author is not a JIRA Service Desk agent and Comment visibility in JSD is set to Always public. Selected agent should have both 'Add comments' and 'Browse project' permission on the JSD project
  • Issue type : synchronise issue type on issues which meet the synchronisation conditions.
  • Attachments
    • Added : every files attached to a source issue will be copied to target issues.
    • Deleted : every attachments removed from an issue will be deleted on target issues if found.
  • Propagation : choose whether the synchronisation stops after one link or if it continues until the synchronisation criteria are no longer met.

View existing synchronisations

The Synchronisations tab lists all existing synchronisation configurations into a table :



  • The Add button leads to the Create/Edit Synchronisation screen
  • Actions : 
    • the  button leads to the configuration page of a synchronisation. 
    • The synchronisation can also be copied with the button
    • or deleted with the  button.
  • You can drag an drop a synchronisation to reorder it. It will have an importance when choosing synchronisation to apply. Only the first one which matches source criteria with updated issue will be taken into account.